National Assembly Committee adopts RATEL’s Activity Report for 2019


At its third sitting held on December 15, 2020, the Committee on Spatial Planning, Transport, Infrastructure and Telecommunications of the National Assembly of the Republic of Serbia assessed the Annual Report on Activities of the Regulatory Agency for Electronic Communications and Postal Services (RATEL) for 2019.

Director of RATEL Dragan Pejović presented the Annual Report to the Committee, pointing out that the activities of RATEL in 2019 were focused on the maintenance of competitive markets, improvement of work conditions for telecommunications and postal operators, ensuring better end-user protection, enhancement of quality of services and strengthening of cyber security in the Republic of Serbia.

12419 individual licenses for the use of radio frequencies were issued, while 4455 were revoked. Over the previous year, temporary licenses were issued for the use of radio frequencies for T-DAB broadcasting stations at six locations, as part of the testing phase to introduce terrestrial digital audio broadcasting in Serbia. During 2019, 5G technology testing was officially launched by issuing temporary licenses for the use of radio frequencies in the band 3400 – 3800 MHz, representing basic bandwidth in the current phase of 5G technology development.

In 2019, revenues generated in the electronic communications market of the Republic of Serbia reached approximately 206 billion dinars – about 4 percent more than the previous year. Revenues stemming from electronic communications accounted for 3.8 percent of the national BDP in 2019.

Following the presentation of the document and subsequent discussion, the Committe adopted RATEL’s Annual Report and made a Draft conclusion to be presented as a proposal to the National Assembly.

The meeting was chaired by the Committe Chair Katarina Rakić, and attended by members and deputy members of the Committee: Bojan Torbica, Goran Pekarski, Dejan Kesar, Goran Spasojević, Nikola Vojinović, Milosav Milojević, Nikola Kožović, Maja Grbić, Samir Tandir, Milutin Mrkonjić, Adrijana Pupovac and Zoran Bojanić.